Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. As the title says I'm new to biking and am looking to get a bike.

Here's some quick background info:

I'm 38, white collar job, not very active, somewhat overweight (maybe 15lbs) and grew up riding motocross and bmx bikes a lot. I want to start riding to help get in shape and to have fun while doing so.

I live about 5-6 miles from a state park with a very good mountain bike trail system. I intend to ride the bike to these trails. Would you experienced guys recommend going with something like a GF Kaitai due to the road portion of my riding or would you get something more mountain bike oriented like a GF Wahoo or GF Marlin? Obviously, I'm not wanting to spend a fortune on my first bike.

I've talked to the local shops and am getting differing opinions. I'm just curious what anyone else thinks.

Thanks for the help,
Mike

·
Probably drunk right now
6,753 Posts
A few thoughts...

mwike said:
Hello all. As the title says I'm new to biking and am looking to get a bike.

Here's some quick background info:

I'm 38, white collar job, not very active, somewhat overweight (maybe 15lbs) and grew up riding motocross and bmx bikes a lot. I want to start riding to help get in shape and to have fun while doing so.

I live about 5-6 miles from a state park with a very good mountain bike trail system. I intend to ride the bike to these trails. Would you experienced guys recommend going with something like a GF Kaitai due to the road portion of my riding or would you get something more mountain bike oriented like a GF Wahoo or GF Marlin? Obviously, I'm not wanting to spend a fortune on my first bike.

I've talked to the local shops and am getting differing opinions. I'm just curious what anyone else thinks.

Thanks for the help,
Mike
Thought 1: Go here and read the thread. Good advice: http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=478402