Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to mountain biking gone on a couple trails and haven't been able to invest in my own bike just riding my friends with him but I'm ready to get more into it and just looking for suggestions on a basic bike for relatively simple trails around me no extreme terrain by any means and I'd like to keep bikes below 500ish if at all possible any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Go around to the bike shops in your area and ride different types of bikes to see what fit you like. Most bikes in the price range will have similar component and frame build quality. The important thing is to get a bike you love to ride, so you keep doing it. Ride different wheel sizes, and different geometries, ie head angle, seat angle, top tube length, bb height. Different manufactures use different mixes, so their bike feel different. Some of them will feel amazing, and some will feel just wrong. Find the one you like, then pick that bike.

·
Registered
32 Posts
I went to my local bike shop, was upfront and just told them I don't know much this about what I wanted to spend and they explained to me all kinds of things and helped me get set up with something I liked. My Local bike shop has a 30 day return so if I take it out and its not for me I can come back upgrade/downgrade or just return it for all my money back.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·