Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DT Swiss 370 Hub

has anyone ever done an overhaul on one and if so can you direct me to overhaul instructions. I've gone to the DT Swiss website but still have a lot of questions. I"ve already been given some wrong advice on bearings.

I tried getting input from JensonUSA but they weren't much help either. Can't even get it to a shop given they have a 2 week waiting period and I'd really like to fix this thing well before then.

Thx in advance.

·
Registered
332 Posts
what's wrong with the hub? on most cassettes the smallest 2 cogs aren't attached...if you haven't taken the cassette out of the packaging then you haven't noticed that they don't just spin but that they're actually freestanding pieces. that's just how they're made.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm New To This Self Maintenance Thing. I Was Told That Since There Was Some Play In My Cassette (moves Every So Slightly Side To Side) That My Hub Would Need An Overhaul. Figured I'd At Least Try And Replace The Bearings Myself But On The Dtw Apparently There Are Bearings In A Collar/ring That You Buy And Just Insert. But Would This Be The Prob Requiring A Hub Overhaul? Do You Usually Have To Overhaul A Hub? Had It For 3 Years Now And Ride Alot As In Approx 78 Miles A Week.

·
Enthusiast
5,360 Posts
@Zen: you probably have cartridge bearings. There's no "overhaul" per se with those. One simply replaces them when they are worn.

When you hold the wheel in your hands and give it a spin, does it spin freely? Do you feel any notching effect from the bearings? Do you hear any squeaking? If the wheel spins freely and silently, I'd probably continue to ride it and leave well-enough alone.

Is your cassette loose, or does it simply appear to wiggle a bit when you spin the wheel? A tad bit of wiggle when you stare down at the spinning rear wheel is not unusual.

·
Registered
167 Posts