Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I've been riding an 03 Stumpjumper comp for about 2 years now. About 9 months after buying the bike, I added Avid Mech. disc brakes. Since then I've broken 2 or 3 spokes on my rear wheel and 1 on my front wheel. Two in the last month (one this morning).

I spoke to a guy on the trail this morning who suggested replacing my existing 15 gauge spokes with double butted 15/14 spokes, or getting a new wheel set.

I'm currently running the stock wheelset, which is mavic 221 rims, and Shimano FHM525 hubs. I way about 165 lbs. I ride mainly XC with minimal drops of a foot or less.

I'd like to stay under $250 for a relacement, but want to stop breaking spokes! Any suggestions on the best solution? Thanks in advance,

N

·
A wheelist
5,991 Posts
Have your wheels re-built with 14/15g DB spokes with sufficient tension, equalized tensions and stresses relieved by a competent wheelbuilder and your problems will be over. Your biggest problem will be sorting the competent from the non competent.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks

Mike T. said:
Have your wheels re-built with 14/15g DB spokes with sufficient tension, equalized tensions and stresses relieved by a competent wheelbuilder and your problems will be over. Your biggest problem will be sorting the competent from the non competent.
Any idea what shops will typically charge to rebuild?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Wow!

Mike T. said:
No clue and some builders might not even want to use your old rims. Wanna do it yourself? We can help.
I'd love to learn how to build a wheel. Unfortunately, I won't have the sort of free time in my life required to take on that sort of project until this fall. Nor am I very mechanically inclined, so every bike repair takes me twice as long as the average person!