Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, Im just getting into mountain biking and came across this site so I figured I would join up and start reading.

Anyway, I picked up my first bike in about 10 years (2007 rockhopper disc) last week, and picked my girlfriend up a 2008 myka sport yesterday. We are both new to mountain biking and are really looking forward to getting into the sport.

I have put about 15 miles on my bike since I picked it up last Thursday, about 10 miles on some light trails and 5 on the road. I'm happy with it so far, I really liked the stumpjumper models, but $2000+ was a little steep for a newbie.

I went with the specialized over a few other brands because the dealers were so much easier to work with. I was sold on a Giant Rainier, but the people at the giant shop were pushy as heck…so I went back to the specialized. I was open to anything for the old ladies bike, but she really liked the myka as soon as she saw it, plus she gets a kick out of having the first one out of something, hers is the first and only one that has came through that shop.

Like I said, I'm new to the sport and I'm really looking forward to getting some more seat time and doing some reading on this site; it seems to be a wealth of knowledge so far.

Later all,

Kyle

p.s. I'm from South East Michigan, any other specialized riders in the area?

·
The Other Dude
3,080 Posts
Congrats and welcome to the Club! You got a great, solid, worry free bike to start out on! Go out and have a blast......it just gets better with EVERY ride!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks!

Thats what I was hoping to get...something I didnt have to worry about breaking on me every time I take it out, and something fairly cheap to learn on. Eventually I will upgrade to a full suspension bike...but the rockhopper will work great for now.