Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright well i was running through my gears earlier to test how long the up/down throws are. Then all of a sudden i heard a snap from with in my shifter (sram x-7) so i made sure it wasnt working (it sure wasnt) so i took it apart to try and repair any possible damage... obivously was unable to (as my sig says im a noob lol) so now i have to buy a new one, should i just buy a new single shifter? or in a set? considering the questionable relibality of this praticluar shifter (not the model but the shifter it self may possibly be defective so) to sum it up im looking for 2 things, should i replace both shifters or just one? and if so what shifters should i look into?

·
Registered
52 Posts
So i read your post and it appears i'm in the same boat i have X-7 shifters too but i am going to upgrade to X-9 for sure. I think that the X-O is for only some who has lots of green or never crashes. On the other side there is the wow factor of the X-O being part carbon.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was looking at some X-O's theer 340 at my LBS... a little pricy for me.... though if they will hold up better than my x-7's then it may be worth it... as i said i pulled it apart and found the problem, it seems that the cable it self riped through the plastic pully... so thats not cool... haha

·
Registered
606 Posts
I myself have a '06 XO medium cage derailleur, and it's linked to X9 8-speed triggers. I've never had to adjust the derailleur. After my cables stretched a bit, a turn or two on the barrel adjuster at the shifters worked everything out.

FYI- With SRAM XO, you only get the carbon pulley cage with medium/short cage derailleurs. Long cage XO is alloy. My derailleur has met with a lot of abuse from rocks, roots, bushes, and grinding uphill shifts under power..... cable housing started to split and fray, that's it.