Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Chief Looter
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Guys/Gals,
I just started riding last month. I bought an old univega MB from a fellow service member for $150. I have ridden my bike in the mountains around the Chattanooga, TN area and in/around the Fort Polk, LA area as well. The bike rides great on small hills, but in the mountains in TN it had trouble shifting; sometimes it would jump a gear (rear sprockets). Other times it would jump back and forth between gears (all on the back sprockets). All the componets (except tires/rims) on the bike are shimano deore. I know this is an old bike so the parts on it may be worn out or they might just need tuning/adjusting. I'm going to take it to a bike shop here in LA or back in TN if I ever get back home. If I need to replace the gears/shifters, what would you recommend? I use the bike for commuting to work here on post (all paved) and riding out in the woods. I do not race, but I would like some equipment that will hold up to riding in the TN mountains (don't want to break the piggy bank either). Thanks for any feedback and now back to sifting through some of the posts on here with similar questions.

PS...does anyone have a link to a thread that would have a list of "basic cycling lingo"? I'm fairly lost at trying to understand some of the posts. Thanks again.

BlueDuck

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
the derailleurs are probably out of adjustment or the cables are stretched out thats probably why your having shift issues. you said its an older bike so your probably due for some routine maintanence. take the bike to your local bike shop.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I agree that your cables are out of adjustment. Take the bike to a local shop, and ask them if you can watch the mechanic. Most shops don't have a problem with this. Be sure to ask questions, he'll be the one to show you how to do everything. Thats how I learned.