Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, my name is Leo. I'm new to mountain biking and to MTBR also. I just moved to Providence a couple months ago and decided to pick up mountain biking recently. Does anyone have any suggestions for places to ride?

I know didly about the sport, I just bought a bike tonight from Craigslist and I want to just go and do it until I no longer suck and am in better shape.

Any and all suggestions welcome,

Leo

·
Registered
40 Posts
There are many places to ride in RI. Try the NEMBA website for trails and the RINEMBA website for organized rides for novices. This website and the Bikerag website have a long list of trails in RI too.

If you are just starting also look at the East Bay Bike Path as an option for getting back into shape. The Airline rail trail west of Providence is another flat option wth more challenge on the unpaved portions.

·
Registered
40 Posts
The Air Line Trail is called the Trestle Trail in RI and I apologize for the confusion. I live on the CT/RI border and mix terms.

Trestle Trail Data

Length: 10 miles unpaved

Grade: Flat, slight gain in elevation going east to west.

Trail condition: Fair to poor. Soft sand in places, some bridges closed, humps on trail from illegal ATV and dirt bike use. Passable only with mountain bike or on foot. New bike path and equestrian path to start construction in 2006.

Special characteristics: This path is a continuation of Washington Secondary line, built in 1840, to connect Providence with New York. It connects to finished section of Coventry Greenway and runs west to the Connecticut border. Plans are in the works to pave most of it, save the last few miles near the state line which will be graded with a durable, compacted surface. Trail departs far from main roads at times; a great sense of being in the middle of the wilderness.