Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.
I'm new to the forum (I've been "lurking" for the past few weeks).
I've been riding a hardtail since 1998 - a stumpjumper.
Decided it was time to upgrade, so I tested an '06 epic and an '06 sj.
While I liked them both, I decided on the SJ - specifically a SJ FSR Expert.
I should have it in a couple of days.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone has any specific advice to offer about this bike.
Are there any particular maintenance items that I should watch out for on this bike?
Are there certain upgrades that are advisable - tires, etc? (I ride in NJ - some sand, some rocks, 1 to 2 ft drops)

Thanks very much.

dubub

·
Registered
181 Posts
Just Picked Mine up Saturday

Also in NJ and coming from a hardtail. Same bike, XL. Just swapped out the pedals to Times and waiting to ride. Make sure you get a shock pump and ask your shop if they can get you a mud flap for the rear shock (I forgot to ask). My LBS warned me that they already sent back a Triad shock to Fox because is was "stuck down", which I also read about on this site, so I'm almost expecting it to happen. Also, refer to the Stumpjumper manual for the rear shock setting chart. Mine came with a manual from Fox, but it did not include the Triad in its contents.

The bike is sweet. I hope to get out this weekend and beat it up a bit. Buying a new bike in the dead of winter is a bit of a tease, but I would have spent the cash on something practical like clothes and food for my kids if I waited too long.

Enjoy.

Mike

·
Registered
129 Posts