165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey, im new to MTBR.COM and fairly new to mountain biking
im a freshman in highschool and i really wana go far in mountain biking
and i have just started to do some serious training
im #1 in Nebraska for MTBiking in ages 13-15
so if you just have any tips, suggestions, anything it would be helpful
P.S.
im not part of a team ... dont even have biker shorts.. money is kind of an issue
my dad is willing to get me a new bike for around $1,500 <-----his max price
so any suggestions?
the bike i have now is a Conondale F-600 so plz comment
thanx

·
Registered
182 Posts
Hey, I'm a junior from California and enjoy mountain biking too. It's a great way to get out of the shell of the internet (I'll admit its addictive) and experience the beauty of the natural world while having a hell of a lot of fun.
I got my real start into mtb buying a used Specialized enduro off of craigslist for 700$ which was a great deal. I recommend waiting and researching a bit until you find a great deal off of Craigslist.
Another thing that's really important is the kind of riding style you want to pursue. When I first got into the sport, I had watched a lot of stuff from The Collective and was pumped to tear it up on super fast dh but was tempered by the limits of my bike and body. I've saved that for the college years and have instead been riding lots of cross country stuff which really helped my endurance. Long story short, I suggest that you look for a 5-6 inch travel all mountain bike that is viable for both cross country training but will keep the downhills smooth at the same time.
If you don't already know, www.chainlove.com has some great deals every so often. I picked up some oakely M frames and bike shorts off of there new for like 60% off so keep an eye on it every so often for deals. 70% of the time theres a lot of road biking crap but mtb deals come on once in a while.