Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I already posted this in the Specialized forum but was told I would get good suggestions here too.

Hi guys, I just got an older rockhopper for $100 from a guy that was moving. I'm convinced that was a pretty good deal. I'm brand new to mountain biking and am extremely happy with my bike. It seems to ride very well and I've taken it on a bunch of trails around my area and love it. Is there anything I should look at upgrading? I'm 16 and don't have a ton of money to throw into this hobby right now, but I do have a job and may be able to do some small upgrades.

Everything is stock as far as I know

Shimano Exage front and rear derailleur
Deore XT Brakes
Stock specialized front fork
Stock specialized wheels
Not sure what the front tire is, but the rear is a 2.3" specialized
Stock pedals
Specialized computer

Thanks for the advice.

JB

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hey not a bad deal for $100.. although the bike looks to be a little ancient, I'd worry about how easily you could upgrade it. You could start with upgrading the simple things over time: Wheels, seat, seat post, handle bars, stem, cranks, etc.. Maybe get a feel for what kind of riding you do, whether its just xc trail riding, aggressive dirt jumps or even down hill, then buy parts that are specific to the type of riding you enjoy. After a while you could just swap out the frame and have almost a completely new bike.. just my $0.02

Jim

·
Registered
17 Posts
That's a great bike just like it is and I think you made a good deal. I'd be happy to ride it on our most difficult trails. If you can't adjust the front of your saddle down enough, take the saddle off the post, turn the post 180 degrees and put the saddle back on. Looks to me like the post might be installed backwards.
Again, nice bike!

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks man, that's exactly what I wanted to hear.