Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings from Washington State:

By way of introductions:
Greg, 41, WA native(east side), active, athletic, novice cyclist, reasonably mechanically inclined. Glad to find his forum hope to eventually give as much as I take from here.

I would like to restate that I’m a novice cyclist; and no nearly nothing about the intricate mechanics of bikes. I am, however, quite mechanically inclined and will pick it up quickly.
I love to ride and do so nearly daily(though not far) I have a vintage Raleigh 66cm road bike and a Dawes Haymaker 2900 29er mtb. I really love them both but am afraid to ride something else for fear of finding out how deficient they are! Hah. I broke a spoke on the front wheel of my 29er. I have the distinct pleasure of riding my bike at/for work and I’ve been riding it with a broken spoke for quite some time. Time to get a new wheel as I want to do some other kinds of riding outside work this spring/summer.

Now to my question:

I am looking for a new front wheel for my Dawes Haymaker 2900. The wheel is described by the manufacturer as follows:

Dawes FORMULA disc Hubs, ALLOY BLACK W/QR

Stainless Steel 14 ga spokes
700cx36h Aluminium DA-17 Double Wall

Experience has taught me the value of these forums. I have NO IDEA what I’m looking at when shopping for a wheel. I’m on a budget and would even be interested in a used wheel should it fit the bill.

Any suggestions about where to locate a good wheel at an affordable price? Eg. $100 or so. Any links to used cycling equipment?

Thank you in advance to those who take the time to read and respond. Y’all rock!!

·
Fat-tired Roadie
18,453 Posts