Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello all. jason- 42- out of shape- ex alcoholic -smoker- looking to get in better shape
so i made a decision to stop drinking and get back into shape somewhat- well at least try and lose the extra weight i put on drinking about a 12 pack a day for the last few years.
moving on-
picking up a trek mountain bike.
been taking laps around town the last week or so. trying to get moving- work= sit/ home = sit - which used to include sit and drink- anyway- thats where i am at today.
just a few 5-10 mile rides around town. no crazy mountain biking/ jumping/downhills etc. just laps around town to get used to breathing and riding/ changing gears etc.
think i would like to find a local trail and give it a shot. place i picked the bike up at- kid told me to try out 6 mile- he mentioned something about the lower part- and im guessing because i mentioned im new to this at my old fat age.
anyhow- question i have - if im even posting in the right spot - is -
will 6 mile be a good place to try?
do i need a helmet?
is there a low and high difference?? as in the new/ slow/ fat old man should stay at the bottom or out of the way??

first of many questions im sure. but ill start with what might be a dumb one.

thanks for any help

·
Registered
2,764 Posts
hello all. jason- 42- out of shape- ex alcoholic -smoker- looking to get in better shape
so i made a decision to stop drinking and get back into shape somewhat- well at least try and lose the extra weight i put on drinking about a 12 pack a day for the last few years.
moving on-
picking up a trek mountain bike.
been taking laps around town the last week or so. trying to get moving- work= sit/ home = sit - which used to include sit and drink- anyway- thats where i am at today.
just a few 5-10 mile rides around town. no crazy mountain biking/ jumping/downhills etc. just laps around town to get used to breathing and riding/ changing gears etc.