Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an old dude 31 who has recently relocated to Chico to finish school (Chico State)

I just started riding my bike again after three years, I have been riding lower Bidwell everyday hoping to build my endurance up.

Should I be concerned about theft in Chico just riding around? I keep my bike in my room.

Any places to avoid in Chico bike shops, riding areas?

·
Registered
645 Posts
Welcome to Chico. Like LWright said, be concernced, bike theft is big around here. I have an old road bike to commute on. I wouldnt suggest locking up anything you dont want stolen or stripped.

·
Registered
170 Posts
North Rim is a blast. I couldn't find anybody to ride with. I was there visiting and tried to hook-up with that regular Tuesday ride but nobody showed. I rode it three days in a row. It's beautiful from the top. I also rode up Middle Trail where it hits North Rim and it's equally beautiful.

·
Registered
446 Posts
A beater bike is a good idea. Good luck representing us old guys. I graduated from there in 96. If you are not out partying, you can get up early up enough to beat the heat.

Good Luck my friend.

·
Butcher
529 Posts
My fav morning workout ride is hammering up the road before the gate is open... then hit Middle Trail @ the bottom of B Trail and take it all the way back to the parking lot. it's quick and will give you a good taste of what the park has to offer. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
So far since I got here I have been riding about 15 miles a day. I'm trying to build up endurance since I have let myself go over the last two years. So far I love Chico, I was suppose to go to San Jose State, but after my third tour of the the campus and town I realized it was not for me.

·
Registered
170 Posts