Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife has a Specialized Pitch with a direct mount der. She had a Deore crank and bottom bracket, and on the drive side there was one 2.5mm spacer. I put on a new 3 ring SLX crankset and bottom bracket. I have installed it with the spacer and can not get the bike to shift to the middle ring. I installed it without the spacer and then it has trouble dropping back down to the granny ring. I'm lost. I take German cars apart for a living, yet I can't figure out this stupid problem. Educate me please!!!

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, I've adjusted it. It just doesn't seem to be throwing far enough for the chain to ramp up on to the middle ring. Even if I adjust the der all the way out so that the chain rubs in the granny and big cog on the back I still can't get it to catch when she shifts to the middle ring.

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
hitek79 said:
Yeah, I've adjusted it. It just doesn't seem to be throwing far enough for the chain to ramp up on to the middle ring. Even if I adjust the der all the way out so that the chain rubs in the granny and big cog on the back I still can't get it to catch when she shifts to the middle ring.
More description on the fd (which specific model?) and how you setup the derailleur, detailed steps, might help point out where you might be going wrong, otherwise you might simply reinstall the derailleur from scratch using the park link (or the specific fd setup instructions) to make sure you get it right. Be sure you've got the crank setup properly for the frame first.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
hitek79 said:
It's an LX FD, but a Direct Mount, or E-Type. It bolts straight into the frame, so from what I can tell there really isn't much adjustment up or down. The only adjustment is the H and L limit screws.