Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey gang, im new to the site and was looking for good strong bike for a big guy..mostly trail riding...some mountain riding, used to ride quite a bit in the mid 90's but got married amd had a child...now 330lbs later. want to get back into the sport. so im looking for so input on a moderately priced bike that will hold up while im working on my weight loss..

·
Registered
236 Posts
from expeirence, i recommend giant rincon.
im now about 304, but 327 when i started riding. I have a couple of friends about 330 also riding the rincon. Good solid bike, decent componets, and a fair price.
i think somone in the giant forum found one for 425.00

·
Making fat cool since '71
1,840 Posts
Lots of options, nothing is perfect, but the Kona Hoss is one of the best options. The Giant above is fine. GT's Avalanches are fine (the frame is the same for the cheap 3.0 or 'spensive Expert). A buddy is beating the crap out of his Iron Horse Yakuza with good luck so far. All of those are sub $1k (several a lot under).

Welcome, good luck and ride the hell out of it.

Brock...

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
don't know how tall you are... but if you are a taller guy and not looking at doing freeride/jumps and such look at a 29er... for the road type trails you can slap some slicks on it and they are great on the trail they are great :)... i've got 2 now and love em :) earlier this year I started at your weight and am down about 50# now... progress has slowed (holidays and me riding less and eating more) but come new years i'll be back pounding hard core with plans to loose another 60 next year...

welcome back BTW :)... and enjoy the ride

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks

i appreciate the input so far..

im about 5'11" (although it seems like im getting shorter lol )