Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First time poster here, but I've been lurking for a while!!

After weeks of deliberation I've finally given my lbs the go ahead to build me a Bronson Carbon. I'm super excited, I've been riding for 2 years now mostly on a budget 29er. So this is a massive upgrade for me.

The lbs asked me what fork I wanted on it either the pike or the fox34 talas. I told them the pike as it was cheaper and I've heard nothing but good things about it. Have I made a mistake or was that the right choice.?

It's not to late for me to change!

·
Registered
409 Posts
best choice! I rode a bronson w/ a fox 34 recently back to back w/ my heckler/pike, and I couldn't get past how much better the pike is. I was just thinking of going to the bronson C frame, but the demo didn't do the trick w/ the fork so much better on the more basic bike..
go PIKE!
Holiday

·
Registered
796 Posts
Unless you are dead set on the adjustability feature of the Talas, then the clear internet winner would be the Pike. Mine is on order as we speak on my new ride, so I also had a decision between a standard 34 and the Pike. Went Pike all day.

·
Registered
169 Posts
Pike is supposedly better feeling overall - I haven't ridden one so I can't comment on that. I do, however, have a Fox 34 Talas on my Bronson C, and I'll say that having the adjustable travel is pretty damn useful if you do long, steep-ish climbs. The Bronson's geometry is perfect for downhill and fine for shorter climbs, but on longer climbs having the ability to steepen the head angle and drop the front end a bit is really nice. If I didn't have the adjustability then I might consider going to a 5010 C instead. But with the Talas, I feel like I get the best of both worlds. Worth factoring into your decision, anyway.

·
Registered
82 Posts