Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heyo folks. It's been about six years since I left the trails and became a roadie. The mountain itch has been bugging me for a while, and when I found this bike on eBay, I couldn't resist. Came yesterday and I put it together stock. Took it for a short ride on a 3-mile-ish trail near my house. It was fantastic. I'm not a MTB fiend, but to me it felt just like a mountain bike should feel.

2008 Bianchi Sok 29er:

The tease.

Well packed! Not a scratch.

What a beaut!

Christened with a custom head cap. Phrase from zeropergallon.com

Hmmm, I'm broke, but just for kicks- what should I upgrade?

Also, I can't seem to adjust the front disc brake so that it doesn't rub a bit, any tips?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
AZ.MTNS said:
Nice , have you tryed recentering the disc brake caliper ?
doh! that did it. It's my first time using disc brakes, didn't realize it had so much adjustability. The little card that came with it said nothing about that, only turning the little pad-adjust knobs. Crisis averted.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Upgrades

As for your upgrade question. Do nothing. Ride it as delivered for a while, then decide what you don't like about something. Then change it. Upgrades (for the financially prudent) should follow the following order: 1) Improve Ergonomics 2) Improve Ride 3) Reduce Weigth 4) It's Bling-thirty!!!

·
Registered
345 Posts
You might think about adding a few different tires into the mix. Those exiwolfs are nice, but some lighter or more condition-specific tires would be my first upgrade. If you ride in mud, get some Conti Mountain Kings. If you ride tacky hardpack, get some Kenda Karma 1.9s. If you don't deal with rocks or thorns, then maybe give the Stan's Crow or Raven a try.

I've found that tire choice is very important when riding a 29er SS; it's worth the time and money to experienment to find out what works in your area!