Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So after pondering over purchasing a single speed, i decided on a 1x1. Very cool bike, the shop I dealt with had a used one already built up but i decided to opt for new one cuz my b-day was coming up.

I explained to them what i wanted the end product to be and what it was gonna be used for specifically. I want a fat-ass tired winter trail bike (not for street commuting) and in the summer it was gonna be used as a screwing around at the sk8 park kinda bike. i also wanted it to look sharp too boot (somewhat matching colors). Im still learning about the endless number of spec combinations and I really relied on them to help me out along the way. my one gripe was that I wanted 2.5'' tires for the massive volume and traction, no problem, theyll take 2-5 business days i was told, everything else was in and ready to go. After 5 days of not hearing nothing and not being able to wait any longer i began calling on a daily basis, no no no, I believe 9 days later they showed up, thank god. They tossed them on the bike, good to go, not so fast, upon closer inspection me (the rookie who doesnt work at a bike shop) realizes that they sent the 2.3's instead of the 2.5's. So i head back and tell them, the owner now jumps on the case and tells me that these r better anywhoo for the winter riding Im doing. I took his word for it and got him to throw in a set of summer tires for a good price just cuz all the grief. I brought the bike home and hopped on for its maiden voyage, disaster. The first turn of the crank, the rear wheel wrenches itself so crooked that it bent the bb5 brake rotor. So I limped it back to the shop (who claims to have sold lots of these) where they bent back the rotor and re-assesed the axle situation. So they give it back to me and off i go. About twenty minutes into my ride that eve, the same thing happens, wheel crooked as a cop. So i take it back an