Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding a Cannondale Jekyll 1000 for about 2 years now and while I love the bike, I want some new tech, mainly in the rear shock department. I'd like an all mountain full suspension bike and if I find one would sell the Jekyll to fund it. What should I be looking at in the 1000-1200 range? I don't mind buying used and am not a weight weenie. I want a set up that can take advantage of new shocks, has disc brakes and would like a new frame design.

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I am about the same as you and ride a 06 Jamis XAM 01- Love it! I beat the pi$$ out of it and it keeps going.
You may be able to find on on EBAY or look around at your LBS

·
Registered
129 Posts
I second Clyde. I've pwned a Jamis Dakar XC, and now an XAM 1. I love the bike! So far it has taken evrything i've throw at it with no trouble at all. While the 08's are improved over the 07's ( and pricier..about $2100-2200) i've seen 06-07's going for alot cheaper. Jenson usually has pretty good prices on Jamis too.

·
R.I.P. DogFriend
6,891 Posts
I'm 6'5" and was as high as 299.9 :D in June 2007 (currently in the 265 to 270 range. I went from a Cannondale Super V to a (21") 2005 Giant Reign with a Manitou Swinger 3-Way Air.

I've never had to put more than 200psi in the Manitou air shock on the Reign. To say I prefer the ride of the Reign over the Super V would be a huge understatement.

You don't state your riding style or preferred terrain type, so I don't know if a 6" travel bike would be overkill, but they also have a Trance X with 5" travel.

You can find used specimens of the Giant Maestro type FS bikes (Reign, Trance & Anthem) for pretty reasonable prices if you are resourceful.

Me and my 'trailbike':