Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cycling, well technically, yet to begin... I'm looking for a bike in the $1500-1800 range. In my research I've decided a 29er hard tail would be the best bike for me. I'll be using it mostly for commuting to work daily, about 5 miles each way, and some recreational riding on the weekends. For the most part, everything will be streets, roads and bike paths, but I'd like the option to go off-road if the urge strikes me in the future. Nothing too technical as I've not ridden a bike in over 25 years. It'd probably be easy fire roads and singletrack, at first. That's why I'm looking for a hard tail mtb. So far I've been checking out the 2010 Gary Fisher X-Calibur and Paragon. But before I make a purchase, I wanted to get some more input. Are there any other bikes in this price range that I should take a look at? I'd like to stay away from buying from an online vendor, so something that I could get through a local bike shop would be best. I'm in the Southern California area.

·
1*14*29*2.1 & 1*1*29*2.4
1,283 Posts
I agree a hardtail is the way to go. If you can afford it posibly have another set of wheels with dirt tyres opposed to slicks...personally I don't like riding the road with myb tyres. Slower and wears them out. The other option would be to try cyclo cross tyres first up for a while.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I was going to go with some road tires. In another thread, it was recommended to go with Schwalbe Big Apples or Marathon. So, I was going to ask my LBS to swap out the Bontrager XDX for these. Or I would buy the apples/marathons, have them installed and keep the XDX for a spare to use with backup wheels later. This would give me offroad capability at the flip of a switch/lever... :)

·
boba fett on a bike
405 Posts