Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,
I bought a Giant Yukon FX a few months back (ridiculous price for almost new bike) and it came with a SR Suntour XCM fork that just doesn't work for me. Out of its 100mm, i can only use around 65mm because the preload (I think it's preload, I'm relatively new to MTBing) is set for a much heavier rider (I'm under 150 lbs).

After turning the preload as far left as possible, the sag was almost close to what i need it to be. No other knobs or rebound or compression damping knobs are available on the XCM fork (I think, but if you know please say).
So, since i think i need a new fork, I was wondering what suggestions you experienced riders thought i should get. What I think i need:
  • Price: preferably under $300
  • Sized for a 26er
  • Travel: around 100mm
  • Air: is air better than coil/spring?
  • Maintenance: as close to 0 as possible :), including having to send back for manufacturer problms (so no 2013 Fox)

Thanks a ton!

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
You probably need the right spring. I'm assuming it's a coil spring so just get the lighter one. They are usually color-coded.

mk

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So just a lighter spring would allow me to use the entire 100mm? Can i find it on suntour's website or is used fine on ebay or somthing?

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
Find the answer and report back to educate us all!

mk

·
Registered
932 Posts
There are some 100mm Manitou Minute or Marvel around sub$300.
Yep, just bought a Circus Expert, very customizable travel settings, got it for riding UA and a little trail riding for $290 off the site they have some Tapered Minute & Marvel Pro's for $279... Pricepoint!

If I was looking for a trail fork only, I would have got the Minute Pro, but I needed a fork that could be tuned for Urban Assault.

Good shopping to you!

·
Kitty! Kitty! Kitty!
1,080 Posts