Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any info relating to ride quality, durability and comfort of each would be greatly appreciated. Also, I am looking for recomendations regarding steel and aluminum hardtails for under $1,200. Thanks in advance.

·
Time is not a road.
4,150 Posts
I have limited experience with steel and Al, but I remember the rides between the day I sold my old steel HT and the day I rode my new Al HT. Night and day in ride experience. Steel is much more compliant and absorbs vibration better than Al. Al is generally stiffer and transfers power better.

I'd say that steel is more comfortable. It would make a better trail bike. Al is lighter and more rigid and would make a better race bike.

There are a lot of builders making frames of both materials, but Steel is harder to come by these days. Some mfrs might be Strong, Cove, Salsa, Canyon, Sycip, Surly, Kona and Jamis. Almost all other manufacturers make Al HT frames.

As far as value goes, you'll have more buying power with a complete bike than from a custom frame mfr but you also get a more "generic" bike.

Personally, I'd get a Cove...but that's just me. Steel is real!

·
Registered
764 Posts
Steel is awfully nice for an HT. From what I understand, alu. has a definite life cycle. Take the same drop x times and alu will crack, even if each drop delivers less than the froce requied to break the tubing. Steel will not fatigue in the same way. Also, when it gives, alu snaps, steel bends.

·
Registered
23,381 Posts
Aluminum: lighter, stiffer, cheaper, less durable.
Steel: heavier, more supple, more expensive, more durable.

For a full suspension, I'd opt for aluminum, since you want a stiff platform for the shocks and springs to be anchored to. For a hardtail, I'd never look at anything but steel.

·
Fo' Bidniz in da haus
17,282 Posts