Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
has anyone ridden in gallup, new mexico? i am wanting to know what its like, and what kinda equipment would be necessary. i am new to mountain biking and am considering new mex as a possible vacation spot to go ride. thanx

·
saddlemeat
3,873 Posts
It's pretty much classic cross country riding in Gallup, and a light HT or FS ride would be appropriate. The High Desert Trail System in Gallup is a great SSR trail as well, as are many of the McGaffey area trails in the Zuni Mountains. Still, if I had only one choice it would be FSR29 for me, especially if I planned to ride for several or more days.

The trails are not very technical in my opinion, intermediate at best, but are narrow and plentiful and challenging enough to be interesting. Long rides are possible, although you will need navigational skills to do them. I advise getting a guidebook from www.gallupwaypoints.com or from High Mesa Bikes in Gallup as a start. You may be able to hook up with locals at the bike shop or trail head if you smile, offer beer, and talk slow... :D

There are developed USFS campgrounds in the Zuni Mts during warm months, or you can primitive camp anywhere along the numerous two track roads in the vicinity. Trails are not generally accessable in the winter due to snow and mud, but are usually dry by mid/late April and good thru November. The Zunis are occasionally closed due to fire danger in June/July, although hopefully not this year if the la nina precipitation pattern continues. Best to check at http://www.fs.fed.us/r3/cibola/districts/mttaylor.shtml before making plans during those months.

The Zuni Mountain MTB Trail System was officially designated as an mtb trail by the US Forest Service last summer ('07) so improvements such as trail signs and pass-throughs for the fence crossings are still being installed by the hardworking crew at www.galluptrails2010.com