Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at the Trek Marlin WSD 29er for my girlfriend (just as a possible option...they have one at a LBS that we're probably going to go try out), but I'm curious about frame sizes. Is there a rule for height vs frame size? Also, how do I measure my current bike to determine what frame size I have?

·
Registered
3 Posts
I don't know about a specific rule of thumb for height vs frame size. The best thing to do is for your girlfriend to go to the LBS and ride the bike around to see if its comfortable. The employees there can help her with the fit as well. To get your frame size, measure from the center of the crank to the top of the seat tube.
FWIW, I am really new to mountain biking (but not biking in general), and I just picked up a Trek Marlin WSD a few days ago. It seems like a decent, entry level 29er. The weight of the bike doesn't concern me too much, as my other ride is a steel touring bike with all the bells and whistles, and it's heavy! The nice thing about that line of bikes is that the frame is the same from the Wahoo on up, so I was able to try a few sizes out at my LBS, even though they didn't have the Marlin WSD in stock. Good luck bike hunting!

·
Registered
170 Posts
i advise standing in your socks with a thin hardcover book, spine facing up, between your legs, against your groin. Measure your inseam from the spine of the book to the floor in centimeters. Multiply the result by 0.65 to get your road bike frame size. Subtract 10 to 12 cm for your mountain bike equivalent.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i advise standing in your socks with a thin hardcover book, spine facing up, between your legs, against your groin. Measure your inseam from the spine of the book to the floor in centimeters. Multiply the result by 0.65 to get your road bike frame size. Subtract 10 to 12 cm for your mountain bike equivalent.