Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems like i take in alot more water than most people durring races, expecially when its hot. The past few races i've actually ran out of water and bonked because of it. I always bring a 100oz camel bak and i also take water at aid stations but i always run out at the end. I am not sure if i hydrate enough before hand.
can anyone help me out with this? its costing me wins.

·
Registered
80 Posts
I had the same problem. Mainly because I started riding with a 100oz. camelback as well.

What I did was only use bottles for a couple months. I thought it sucked at first, but I got those Nalgene ones with the lids to guard from horsecrap and the polar ones to keep my water cold, I got used to it.

THen you just need to pace yourself based on time. I found that after pacing with bottles and going back to the camelback, I somewhat knew how much I should be drinking and ended up not sucking the bladder dry just because I could.

Somewhere I think I heard 17-25 oz. per hour is what you need. My bottles are 22-24 oz. so thats perfect.

hammer nutrition has a free .pdf called the endurance atheletes guide to success, and there is some real good info in there (amongst the product placements). I think thats where I heard that 17-25oz. number.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Two things, A) are you drinking only water, and B) if you are drinking just water, are you eating anything during your races?

You are bonking because you're not taking in any/enough calories, and not because you're running out of water. It really doesn't sound like water intake is your problem...your body can't take in all the water that it loses thru sweat. Your body will only process, at most, about 28-30oz (depending on your size it could be a bit less), so I think you need to look at quality of fluids, not quantity.

·
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·