Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I stumbled across this site while researching bikes and feel like this would be the best place to come and ask for some help. I'm in the market for a new bike but I'm getting decision paralysis and need some guidance.

A little background about me:

- I'm 32, 6'1", 160 lbs, planning on some weight gain as I'm lighter than my average. I rode motocross from age 15-25 on and off. I rode a bike in college as my main transportation. I got into mountain biking last summer and I currently own a 2010 specialized epic (29er) with 100mm travel front and rear. I feel like this is barely enough travel to take the edge off of feeling like I'm riding a hard tail. I know I'm fairly new to the sport but my moto skills have crossed over pretty well and I would say I'm a pretty competent and somewhat aggressive rider. I live in the Tahoe area in California where there are plenty of chunky and gnarly terrain and nearby ski resorts. I'd say my local trails aren't too chunky but I'm feeling bucked around alot on my 100mm bike. I'd like something a bit burlier to grow into and keep for at least the next few years to come.

Bike Interests:

1) My main interest in a bike is full suspension fox with a grip 2 damper - high and low speed control. I've ridden enough with motocross to understand and really want that fine tuning capability. Unless someone can tell me why I wouldn't want that?

2) $5k budget, preferring new, preferring carbon frame, somewhat lightweight, full suspension preferrably in the 130mm-170mm categories. I'm comfortable with the 29er wheels and have been told I should stick to that due to my height and riding style. I know 100mm isn't nearly enough, but how much is enough in Tahoe??