Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the market for my first full suspension bike. currently riding a HT and ready to move on to something that can handle what I am throwing at it. My budget is 2000.00 so I have narrowed it down to the 2011 Pitch pro and or possibly the 2011 Reign 2. They both look nice but I know looks aren't everything. Been leaning a little more towards the pitch because I have read some issues on the 2010 Reign's of broken linkages. Any sugestions or insight on either of these bikes would be helpful. Thanks !!!

·
Registered
217 Posts
Giant has a better warranty and a better parts spec. I've been riding my 2005 Trance now for 5 years with no issues at all. Those issues you read about were probably from riders using the reign for freeriding and not all mountain as the reign is intended for.

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yeah the issues I read were supposedly from people that were just all mountain riders? I know i'm no pro, but I am going to throw out as much as I can at this bike, will be using it for climbing but when it's time to descend I want something that can handle it without having to worry about parts breaking.

·
Registered
598 Posts
afp3 said:
yeah the issues I read were supposedly from people that were just all mountain riders? I know i'm no pro, but I am going to throw out as much as I can at this bike, will be using it for climbing but when it's time to descend I want something that can handle it without having to worry about parts breaking.
They are different models. The Reign "X" is the one with the problems.

The Reign 2 is not an "X", so there's no problem.

Other than that, I have an 06 Reign 2 frame (when they were burly like the X). Guess which one I would recommend?

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·