Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm researching an aggressive Ti HT frame/bike for this spring. I'm a bit of a novice where frames are concerned, specifically Titanium. Two frames that currently have my interest are Chromag's Doctahawk and Sonder's Signal.
Could someone shed some light as to what makes one Ti frame $1500 and another $3k. I can get a complete Signal build for the price of the Doctahawk frame.A dumb question to ask but is one 2x's better than the others.
Just trying to figure out what am I paying twice the price for and is it worth it over the long haul.

· Registered
165 Posts
Generally the difference will be the quality and number of welds as well as the hardware/dropouts. There is a clear stratification in price between bikes where a set of standard tubes are welded together and bikes were a lot more effort and detail has been put into the frame. That does not mean that the cheaper bike is of a lesser quality ...

· Premium Member
8,929 Posts
I will just say that at $3,000 you are at the price for custom TI frame. For hardtails, how they ride is in large part dictated by the tubeset used. A production builder has to use a strong enough tubeset to make sure their frames don't break under a large aggressive rider. If you are not large and aggressive, you will likely end up with a heavier and stiffer frame then needed. In addition, with custom, you can work with the builder to get a geometry that works best for your riding style and use.

· Registered
570 Posts
I have two Moots, one Dean, and a new Carver.....the Moots do two weld passes and look beYOOTiful, that being said I also love my other bikes....The custom Carver was cheaper, but would say that welds may not be as pretty, but still look AWESOME. Love riding all my bikes.

· Premium Member
8,929 Posts