Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm still a noob at studded tires but I learned quite a bit over the past couple of weeks. First I learned that tires with just studs on the outter knobs don't do sh!t on ice. Fortunately, my tires (conti claw 120s) already had the holes in the center knobs, so I was able to transfer the 120 studs from one tire to the other to get a single working 240 stud tire. I then got a Nokian extreme 294 for the front.
So since I had to remove 120 studs from one tire and place them in another, I'm now rather experienced at replacing studs (I also pulled one Nokian stud and replaced it just to see if they were the same).

First tip - Buy the Nokian tool (see pic below). It's cheap and I have no idea how you would do this without it. I got mine at Milwaukee Bicycle

Second tip - you can use a bent paperclip to clear mud or debri out of the holes.

Third tip - Bring the tires up to room temperature.

Fourth tip- Use lube (OK Beavis, you can stop snickering now). Mix up some soapy water (dish soap) and put a couple of drops on the stud/hole area on the tire.

Fifth tip - I found that leaving the tire on the rim (and on the bike) and inflating to about 30 psi worked best for puttiing the studs in. You could also remove them pretty easily like this, but since i had to remove 120 studs, I found it was a little easier to remove them with the tire removed.

Technique - actually it's pretty easy with the proper tool and the hole lubed.
  • Putting the studs in - Start with the stud at a bit of an angle, start to push down as you straighten out the stud then push hard. A little twisting is sometimes needed, but most of them popped in really nice by just pushing them in.
  • Removing the studs- push the stud tool straight in hard over the stud, then tilt (pry) until the stud pops out. Again, this is actually really easy with the proper tool and some soapy water.