Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I have been commuting daily for the last 5 years or so in all kinds of weather with my hope pro2 hub. I only regreased the pawls once when I accidently pulled the freewheel off when replacing a casette, but no other maintenance has been done. But lately my wheel feels like there is metal grinding again each other, from inside the hub. It's hard to explain, when I hold my bike up and spin my rear wheel I can feel it vibrating up into the saddle, it just doesn't run supersmooth anymore.
Does this mean the bearings inside the hub need replacement? I don't think it can have anything to do with my rear axle?

·
Short-Change-Hero
6,534 Posts
Sounds like the hub has been contaminated for sure. Whether that means that the bearings are done or not is the question. I would remove the freehub body and do some basic maintenance to that and see what the inside looks like. Could be that there is grit and grime inside there causing the feeling, but really from the sounds of it the bearings are shot.

·
Registered
722 Posts
Hi all,

I have been commuting daily for the last 5 years or so in all kinds of weather with my hope pro2 hub. I only regreased the pawls once when I accidently pulled the freewheel off when replacing a casette, but no other maintenance has been done. But lately my wheel feels like there is metal grinding again each other, from inside the hub. It's hard to explain, when I hold my bike up and spin my rear wheel I can feel it vibrating up into the saddle, it just doesn't run supersmooth anymore.
Does this mean the bearings inside the hub need replacement? I don't think it can have anything to do with my rear axle?
Take it apart and check them.

https://www.hopetech.com/product-documents/hubs/#!pro-2-evo-rear-hub

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·