Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Addict
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from a long time lurker.

A while back some people posted their Hardrock SS photos and reports. I thought I'd add mine.

We're just comming into winter here, and after not owning a mountain bike for about 4 years I wanted something to ride when the weather turned crap.

Here are my reasons for one gear:

>As a bike mechanic I didn't want to spend all day fixing other peoples bikes only to fix my own after hours, so the idea of one gear seamed great.

>Maintain the leg muscle that I worked so hard on the road bike this year to get.

>Price: I wanted something reasonably cheep to buy and cheep to maintain.

So here it is! The Specialized supplier was blowing out the '04 SS bikes. I ordered a large which is a 19" in a regular Hardrock, but with the SS is a 17". I really needed a 19" so the supplier swapped frames for an '04 Hardrock Pro frame (same thing, different paint)

I sold the Hussefelt cranks and BB to a freeride kid and installed some XT Hollowtech II 180mm cranks and a Blackspire ring I had kicking around.

The stock forks were pretty average. A Pike Race fixed that problem, and I bolted them up to a King headset and a Hugi freeride / D521 front wheel.

Truvativ bits were on sale since the supplier is changing with the SRAM purchase, so I grabbed a Holzfeller riser bar with a wicked 710mm width. Maybe a bit wide, but we'll see.

With the 31.8mm bars I needed a new stem. Had to be a Thomson, and I picked up a layback seatpost while I was at it.

The stock seat got swapped for one of the Specialized roadie saddles, the stock one was just a bit wide for my skinny bum, and a pair of cheep Shimano SPDs take care of pedals