Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering what type of safety gear I should get since I am new at this.

Today I hit a small course and thought if i went slow I wouldnt pop into the air on the ramp.....Wrong I went a good 3 feet in the air. I was scared as hell but I want to do it again.

I ride a fuji tahoe comp hardatil with full xt, bb7's and rock shox 2010 tora 318

Any sugggestions for bike mods or equipment would be greatly appreciated :D

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have a fullface already but I have a torn rotater cuff I never got repaired and im not trying to add more injury

anyone use pressure suits? 661 evo pressure suit? do knee pads restrict movement? I currently have clip in pedals but I think i should get flats so i can bail easier. How about frames, what frames do you guys use/recommend?

·
Registered
141 Posts
If you get knee pads that fit well then they shouldn't have a big impact on movement. As for the shoulder, I strain my shoulders often, but I haven't gotten to test a pressure suit. Personally I use a Rockgardn Flak jacket.

·
Registered
427 Posts
knee pads and a good fullface helmet goes a long way.

if your good at unclipping, then its ok to stick with those, but do try flats also.

try and search the forum also, there are countless other threads with lots of really good advice for beginners.

DH/freeride is fun and as safe as other sports if you take the right precautions.

welcome :)

·
Registered
884 Posts
Protect your joints especially your knees. Full body armor is usually unnecessary at your level unless your really don't want to get scrapes. Just remember pads won't protect you from the worst of it (dislocations, fractures, etc). That's usually up to the "falling with style" skill set.

I think neck braces are worth it. Just so damned expensive.