Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought myself a 2004 cannondale jekyll 600 lefty. I live about 15 minutes from Annadel so I plan to ride every inch of it. Anyway, I'm a total newb, so I'll have lots of questions. I notice in all the pics, you guys have camelbaks, and no water bottles right? It looks like most of you have the backpack type? Is that to carry more clothes? Is that for winter only? Do you use the bladder only type in summer ? How many use clipless pedals? Is it true that I have to bleed my air shocks yearly? Anyone have a how to on that? I don't really have anyone to ride with. Can I remove and re-use grips, or is it easier to cut them off and replace them? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
182 Posts
Lots of questions, ill answer as many as within my capabilities hehe.

About the camelbacks, unless you pick up a decent one they can turn out to be more of a hindrance than a utility. I just use a normal backpack and a waterbottle.
I carry a jacket and some food so a bigger pack is definitely the way to go in the winter.

Clipless pedals are really a matter of preference. I also recently started to mtb but was put off by the learning curve involved with clipless. Flat pedals and 5.10's were what I found to be the most all-round effective method. Although this pedal/shoe combination is strange for xc, it seems to work and allows me to have more confidence in the downhills.
If you plan on riding a lot of XC, clipless would probably be advisable.
Hope it helped a bit, not too sure about the rest of the q's.
-Sentiment

·
Nature Rider, Not MTBer
2,695 Posts
Hah! Lots of questions.

I wear a Camelbak on every ride, year-round. It has a bladder for water. It also has room for:
1) Spare tube
2) Tire levers
3) Patch kit
4) Tire pump
5) Multi-tool (hex keys, wrenches, chain tool, etc.)
6) Chain lube
7) Shock pump
8) Spare brake pads
9) Spare derailleur hanger
10) Powerlinks (to repair a chain)