Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
2,989 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer:
I know this has to do with SSing but it is a about my passion for riding bikes so I thought it appropriate to post in here. Mods, if you think it belongs in the SS forum or even the recycle bin please move it to wherever you see fit.

So, I have been riding rigid SS since I started riding mountain bikes in 2009. I have however, never considered myself a single speeder just a mountain biker who rides a single speed( splitting hairs I know but believe me, I split them). That is, until yesterday.

I went out for a ride with a friend and his brother. Let's call the brothers H1 and H2 for clear story-telling. This was H2's first ever mountain bike ride and he was riding a rigid SS 29er. It was only going to be a short ride since he had to work. H1 and I were using this introduction ride as a warm-up for riding the longer(12.5mi) more challenging trail next door after H2 went to work, then riding the 11-12 miles home.

Enter the long trail:

We could not have asked for better weather; after a week of rain and overcast, dreary skies the sun showed it glorious head on Friday and dried all the trails up so when we got into the woods we were greeted with perfect trails and temperatures.
I have often heard stories of people who are SSers passing geared riders and having faster lap times however, I have never had this happen hence the reason for not considering myself a SSer.
I entered the trail slightly behind H1( he on a GF Superfly, me on a rigid Kona Explosif) and caught up to him. This is usually where my story would end as I would just be fast enough to keep on his wheel and eventually lag to 1-2 min. behind him as we exit; yesterday however, this was not the case.