Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a mountain bike about six months ago, and I've been riding a few days a week ever since. At this point, I know just about every rock and turn on T100. I've also done the Desert Classic several times, and each time I get it done faster and with less effort.

So I finally decided I'd graduated to the National Trail. Everyone here raves about National, but I've been reluctant to try it because the guides list it as "advanced." This afternoon I spent about 3 hours riding National, and the main thing I learned... I'm still a noob!

I rode from the Pima lot up the fire road and then took National zigzagging up the mountain. Man, it was tough! There are several one and two-foot staircases that I'm not sure how anybody stays on a bike to climb. I found myself walking about as much as I was riding. It was frustrating. The worst part was when I was pushing my bike up a hill, inevitably a couple of super intimidating riders came flying down the hill hopping over the rocks like they were tiny anthills. I just tried to get as far off the trail as possible, and maybe cower behind a bush.

Once I got to the top, I could see why National is so loved. The trail smoothed out a bit, and there were parts where you’d be making a sharp turn between massive boulders on either side. That was pretty cool. There was one downhill section that maneuvers around a huge boulder in the middle of the trail. I could see tire track going right to the edge of the boulder. It looks like a four foot drop. Do people really jump off that?!

I guess National is a good example of "technical" up and downhill trail. I’m sure I’ll try it again. But I really just like to jump on my bike and zip along trails for hours without ever having to stop. Maybe that makes me more of a cross-country rider.

·
dirt visionary
6,522 Posts