Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just joined this forum as I look to get a new mountain bike. I've been doing 99% street riding since 1984, and now I want to get on some trails that my street bike can't take (and I want to be able to ride a little slower since my kids have bikes now and the Fuji is too fast to ride with them). A lot of my riding will be on hard surface, but sometimes I'll wander onto dirt or gravel trails. No serious downhill or anything like that.

So . . . I don't want to spend much. Maybe $350 or less.

I know about the Ibex Alpine 350. Seemingly a cult-like following in this forum, and it looks like a terrific value at $334 delivered.

Was about to order . . . but . . . I was at Dick's Sporting Goods today and saw an Iron Horse Warrior Comp for $299. Felt like a nice bike though the tires were awfully aggressive.

Any ideas on how the Warrior compares to the Alpine350?

Much obliged. Thanks.

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts
Buy the Warrior Comp

I'm an avid Ibex proponent, but if the Warrior Comp is the same one that's advertised on the Randall Scott site (maniyou Axel Comp fork, Hayes Disc Brakes, Shimano Deore shifters/derailleur) then I say the IH is the better bike. As for the tires being aggressive, that's pretty much a good thing for trails. I would not make my decision based on tires that could be replaced for $30-$40. If you've test ridden the bike, and it fits and you like it, I say this is a great deal. If the bike does NOT have the components I listed above, then my recommendation is to give us a list of the components (The bike isn't listed on Dick's web site) so that we can give an informed recommendation.

Bob

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Bob.

The IH bikes aren't listed a Dick's online for some reason (too bad because I can get 15% off online there).