Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Brider007
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all! I am fairly new to bikepacking and am wondering about must have equipment. So i plan on going on 1 night or 2 night expeditions and would like to know the absolute must have equipment. Also if you could suggest some cheap equipment that would be a good grab. Thanks!

·
Registered
5,536 Posts
OP, where are you? Desert, rainforest, high plains? New England Summer bikepacker here. Tent, for bugs and rain, something to sleep on like a mattress and something to stay warm. Sleeping bag or quilt will work. Food and stove is up to you, stores nearby? Clean water or a way to filter is good. I like 2 sets on bike clothes, one off bike set of clothes, a warm layer and a dry layer, like rain a coat. And a way to carry it all on your bike. Basic bike fix it stuff, for say a flat or broken chain.

·
Registered
2,200 Posts
I break it down like:

Water
Food
Clothes
Sleep
Personal
Bike (including navigation)

What each category contains depends on many things; no two trips contain the same items.

For a few nights out, I usually don't think of it as bikepacking – I think of it as adding minimalist bivy gear to my day ride kit. (Not applicable you're shaking down for something bigger.) Those less-loaded rides are a good chance to enjoy technical routes. And they give you something to shoot for when kitting up for something big. You already know that you don't need all the stuff that people think they do.

I don't think there is any must-have gear besides a bike. Because if you cite something as mandatory, some high-mileage rider will tell how she's never owned or used one.

Enjoy the discoveries you earn.

·
since 4/10/2009
34,598 Posts