Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
230 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evening all,

I have been racing moto for over 30 years and just got back into MTB. After racing my CR, I would go through most all of the pivot points, barring suspension and lube everything including cables. Clutch, front brake, rear brake, and whatever else I could get to.
On the bicycle, XT M8000 brake components and SRAM Eagle drivetrain. Everything I can see is a pressed pin holding things together. I cannot disassemble anything to lube, brake levers, shifter levers, jockey wheels, hinge points of the derailers, nothing.
After a ride, I wash the bike down with a garden hose and a decent Meguiars car wash, clean the chain and cassette, teh stanchions of the fork and shock. Blow dry everything with air, and then relube the chain. But thats it. How can I get to everything else?
Lastly, I've heard god things about Maximas SC1. What do you guys use it for. I know Maxima is top notch on the moto side as I use their fork oil and brake fluid, but never this SC1.

Thanks for any help.

jack

·
Registered
14,793 Posts
No wet riding.
I've never used water or soap on my bike since new.
An old bath towel gets stuff off the frame, wheels, etc. including the chain plates. Any mud spatter wipes easily when dry.
Stihl Bar and Chain oil is what I use on the chain rollers, one drop for each.
I've also not rinsed off the factory grease the chain ships with except for wiping the outer plates.
No brake cleaner or any other solvent.
The chain is a Shimano Sil-Tec coated XT version. Very long lasting.

As you can see we have polar opposite maintenance procedures. Mine comes from my conditions and experience. You'll hear other options that work. No one way is the only way.

·
Registered
6,995 Posts