Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
It's about showing up.
12,738 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the Director and Coach for the El Cerrito High School Racing Club it seems I am always being asked if there are MTB programs for young teens. It turns out that I am leading an MTB Camp for 11-16 year olds for the Albany YMCA, the week of July 31 to August 4. There is a requirement that each rider have participated in the Just Peddling segment of the YMCA riding program devised, not for beginners, but more experienced riders.
I will focus on being a smart mtb'er through preparation, good group riding skills, selection of techniques, and familiarity with our local trails; Bay Trail, Point Pinole, Wildcat, and Tilden. I have 14 years of experience in these haunts and have some great places to do some work, have some fun and a bit of adventure. This is not a racing camp yet, as MTB is often about managing at the extremes of effort, I will incorporate some of the stuff I teach my kids on the El Cerrito Club. Working hard together requires an awareness of others, mutual support, and sharing. My personal philosophy, central to our work, encourages health, safety, stamina, and skill with fun spread throughout.