Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about travelling to do this race in July. Im no expert or anything, racing sport. However I was hoping those who raced there last yr could give me some insight into a few things;

1-How many folks show up for the sport races? im in the 30+ class and the results show only about 10-14 racers? Do they just not list every rider?

2-Also, what is the course like as far as climbing and terrain? What tires would you think are best? Ive heard its pretty rocky and rooty? I live in the West so we have a lot of climbing so id be used to that but how much of this race is long sustained climbs or short punchy climbs.

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Before you make your travel plans...check the qualifying info on the USA Cycling site or talk to your local official.

As far as the course...it is very rocky and rooty. The woods stay wet slippery and muddy even during dry time...and if it rains....

there is plenty of climbing...but very different from west coast style.

You might want to practice running a little too.

·
I like to ride my bike.
1,597 Posts
There are usually a few more people in the groups than at a local race.