Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding air forks since the early 2000's and I am tired of trying to find/tweak (Push etc..) the optimal ride.

I am ready to venture into a coil suspension fork, anyone have any ridding or ownership experience with Ribbon Coil, Helm Coil or both? if so are or did you stay with coil or did you return to air suspended forks?

·
Registered
516 Posts
Converted my Pike to coil last year and then went with Ribbon coil for new build last month. The only downside is a small weight penalty. It does require having correct spring and gets a bit fuzzy if you’re on the border between springs. If you’re weight changes you’ll likely notice.

·
No known cure
5,606 Posts
I'm interested in this too, but really want to know if these new forks are on par with the Marzocchi RC3 Ti open bath coil forks from around eight years ago. I'm looking at these two or a Fox/Zoke/Yari chassis with Avy/Smashpot. I've read Ohlins makes a coil but don't see it on their site.

·
Premium Member
212 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for your response attaboy, I'm curious about which spring you selected, can you share The spring weight and your approximate weight with or without gear?

Based on the overall comments and number of threads relating to the Ribbon coil it seems that Helm has not sold nearly as many units?

Converted my Pike to coil last year and then went with Ribbon coil for new build last month. The only downside is a small weight penalty. It does require having correct spring and gets a bit fuzzy if you're on the border between springs. If you're weight changes you'll likely notice.

·
Registered
14,836 Posts
I got a MRP Ribbon Coil last year. Great fork. I've been on air for a long time before that. I did have MZ Bombers back in the day, but that was the far distance past.