Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a Park Ranger in an area with many hiking, biking, and equestrian trails. Recently, our ranger staff received two 2019 Specialized Stumpjumpers. These bikes are a valuable asset to us, allowing us to patrol those trails and rapidly respond to emergencies. Aside from those benefits, I'm also pretty stoked about being able to ride a MTB while at work. Unfortunately, I have little to no experience mountain biking. That said, in an effort to avoid looking like a complete rookie on an incredibly expensive bike, and to avoid damaging said expensive bike, I bought an old 2002 Trek 820 for 40 bucks and took it into the local shop to have it inspected and to have new shifters, cables, and a new chain installed. Since the frame is good, and since I like to tinker, I'd like to improve my bike as much as I can and tailor it for the intended purposes of patrolling and responding on the trails in my park. And of course I intend to use the Stumpjumpers from time to time, but the beauty of having my own bike and gear is that it negates the check out process, allowing my to have my bike and gear at all times while on duty, checking that rapid response box.

What advice can yall offer a new rider like me whos looking to improve their endurance, climbing, narrow track riding, stability in rocky sections, on roots, and overall confidence on the trail?

Also, what parts and set ups can yall recommend to increase my bikes utility, long-term comfort, control, and preparedness? It would also be a huge benefit if I could find a detailed, year specific spec sheet covering my 2002 Trek 820. I've tried to do my own research yet I've only been able to find a few vauge documents.

Lastly, given the intended use of trail patrol and response, what advice can yall offer regarding safety and preparedness?