Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any polo players out there. I have been playing with a local group of XC riders for about 8 years now. We play every Sunday morning during the cooler months (Sept-March). We have a blast and we have our own rules. The official rules seem very lame and seem to take a lot of the bike handling skills out of the game, almost like they took the rules from equestriab polo and adapted them to bikes. Our form is much more like Lacrosse, soccer, or icehockey(without the full contact). Just wondering if there are any polo players out there in the MTB world, my guess is that the "official" game is much more suited for roadies. The Washington Post did a write-up on our group and made us sound like barbarians compared to the "proper" polo players, but in fact we have never had an injury, just a taco'd wheel of two.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Bike polo

Alan,

Been playing for 10 years in phx, az. What are you using for mallets? We don't have many rules either. Seems like most groups that play don't.

-Mike

·
Mantis, Paramount, Campy
4,734 Posts
Without Full Contact??

Alan-S said:
like Lacrosse, soccer, or icehockey(without the full contact)
What fun is that?
But seriously the few times I've played it was with roadies and there was plenty of contact. Lots of spills but only a few broken components.
We started off with 'mallets' but quicklk ditched them and just used our wheels to guide the ball around.

·
Where is my mind?
1,130 Posts