Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
498 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in Passion, but I thought I would run it by you guys for more area specifics. I was going for more general ideas there but wanted to get the local yokels thoughts.

I teach at a High School (Silver Creek, West Longmont) in the Colorado Front Range. I am also an avid MTB'r and have long thought about combining my teaching with my hobby and pastime. I have been tossing around the idea of starting a Mountian Biking Club, possibly school sponsered. The school I teach at is blessed to be close to several great trails and mountian biking organizations. Besides the obvious fitness benifits I also thought I could incorperate elements of bike maintenance and building, trail conservation, trail building, and generally introduce them to the different aspects of the sport. I have been teaching for about 10 years now and have definitly seen a downward trend in fitness and eating habits, and I also see very few younger riders on the local trails. I thought this might be a way of helping.

So my questions for the masses out there:

Has anyone tried this? If so I would love to pick your brain and see what you did to make it happen and the successes and failures.

What are your ideas about a club like this? What would attract high school age kids to an activity like this? What other activities would be good?

Would any of you local hotshots like Scrublover, Ventanarama, S-Works, etc... be willing to do a little instruction (If I didn't put your name up please don't take it as an insult, I just can't remember anyone. Your all better then I am, that is why I am asking).

Should I seek local sponsorship? This would be mainly in the form of discounted jerseys and T-shirts.

Could we latch on with some of the local trail-building and conservation groups?