Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
new to the sport looking for help in buying a bike. I raced motocross and want to start mountain biking on a real bike I have a old mongoose that has been beat. I need a bike that can put up a real beating. I found this motobecane fantom trail ds. on bikesdirect.com is this a good place to buy a bike? and is this a good bike to get?

·
Registered
17 Posts
The Motobecane is a good bike. I just bought a Fantom Trail Hardtail and love it. Although, I'd definitely say go that route if have their brick and mortar counterpart nearby (www.CycleSpectrum.com) because if you buy the bike there (for same price as online) you get free service for life. If you don't have one nearby, I recommend www.ibexbikes.com. I did some pretty in-depth analysis and I think the Ibex bikes are about 15% better for the same price. Take it with a grain of salt because I'm a beginner myself, but I very recently did a ton of research into it :p

I'd recommend something like this, its a really popular bike
http://www.ibexbikes.com/Bikes/IGN-3-Details.html

:cool:

·
Registered
38 Posts
I have a 2007 Fantom Elite DS and love it. I wish it had the hydro brakes like the 2008 but I think mine has better forks. Have had no maintainance issues on bike and have oly had to rplace tires and oil the chain. Watch out as this can become an addiction worse than MX. I still race cross country and now have bicycles that cost more than my motorcycles.

·
BrassBalled DropbarNinja
11,813 Posts
Another vote for an Ibex. They make sweet frames, with awesome components and awesome customer service to boot. Plus, the Ibex community is just down right awesome...

https://forums.mtbr.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105