Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I may have a chance to get a really cheap Moto fr fork but wanted opinions 1st as I have no knowledge of this fork. I have a 97 SV 500 that it would go on if I got it. Just have the headshok mc60 on it now and understand that I'd prolly be doubling the weight (but also twice as much travel). I'm not a weight weenie so that does not bother me.

Just want some real world feedback not "I had a friend who new someone 10 years ago.....". Cost of maintenance, is it high maintenance (reliable), can you dial in a plush or progressive ride, that sorta stuff. LBS quoted me $150 (not including shipping) to send to the factory for a rebuild (worst case scenario).

Anyones thoughts are totally appreciated.

·
Ridin' dirty!
2,264 Posts
I used to have a MOTO FR fork on my super V and it's a really plush and bombproof fork that's why cannondale used to spec their tandem bikes with MOTO's.
You would need to get a different headset and stem though as the MOTO requires a 1 1/8 headset.
Another thing to look out for is to get a MOTO FR fork that has some ISO disc tabs....some of the older ones didn't have those.
Only downside is that it is hard for a novice to maintenance this fork as it requires some special tools to remove the cartridges...You might also find it hard to find the right spring for your weight since it's no longer produced.
A spring from a 100mm Lefty might work.
Seal kit should be the same as for the older 70-80mm headshoks so no issues there.
I still have a new rubber boot set with air filter for the MOTO FR fork pm me if you're interested. :D
$150.- for an overhaul is kinda steep.....send it to Mendon as he is a true Headshok/Lefty expert mechanic in here and will be way cheaper than what your shop quoted you, I bet. :D

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·