Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
here's the v2 post link

I have an adventure style SUV with an aftermarket steel bumper / spare tire on a swing arm. This, combined with the liftgate/hatch made for a tough fit for almost all typical retail racks. The only options were a few spare tire type mounts which had only two or three bike capacity, and aren't compatible with modern full suspension frames.

There are of course hitch based designs, which tank ground clearance at a minimum, but also with the spare tire in the way, mean a long extender / receiver which puts a lot of mass out far behind. Add to that that a four to six bike version like the Lolo or Velocirax is around $1000k, and that I couldn't get into my truck with the rack mounted to the hitch (due to the tire swingarm), and it looked like homebrew was the only way.

I studied the designs and decided I could adapt the lug studs on my spare tire carrier as the central point. There are adapter plates made for some off the shelf spare tire racks from Yakima, Thule, etc, but my truck has an uncommon bolt circle, and the adapter plates all terminated in a 'hitch like' square size that were proprietary (of course), which I thought might be tough to adapt to. The single point was also a single point, and I wanted something with some triangles in it for stiffness and control.

It isn't clear yet if my swing arm can handle the spare (110lb) and 5 bikes (150lb) and rack (40 lb) = 300lb, but I'm pretty certain I can carry the bikes/rack safely and maybe put the spare back underneath the truck for bicycle adventures.