Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Member of The Yeti Tribe
704 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after buying a Enduro Comp 29, I decided I didnt really like the way the bike rode and decided to sell it.. But I also put some time on a friends custom built SS 29er and loved it.

I am opting for a 27.5 trail bike and I want to build a Singlespeed Hardtail 29er. I want this bike to be not so much racer boy bike, but something slacker, with shorter chainstays, will run a longer travel fork and will take a beating. I will be running carbon wheels, dropper post, 800mm Carbon bar, and singlespeed as mentioned so there has to be some way to tension, preferably via adjuable dropouts and not eccentric BB, but not totally against BB.. Basicically looking for a rowdy bike to run single speed..

Before anyone says anything... I work in a shop and the other shop in town is a transition and Kona dealer.. So no TransAMs, or Honzos.. I am willing to try any other companies that aren't major competitor brands to what we sell (GT, Specialized, Yeti) .. ..:thumbsup:

·
WillWorkForTrail
4,989 Posts

·
Stayin' Puft
1,241 Posts
Ros9

Sounds like the OP read the marketing page for the Niner ROS9. "Rowdy" and all. ROS frame is solid, well thought out and fun.

·
Member of The Yeti Tribe
704 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I'm not going to suggest that this list is "complete" by any means, but I put a spreadsheet together with some SS frames and specs when looking for my next frame. My only requirement was that the frame be steel and have the aforementioned chain tensioning ability. I don't think it will take you any further than the Canfield though.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ap1cf1i9qubPdHdvemhYUU85UXRqX05acmc0Mm5GeHc&usp=sharing
Thanks for that! That is an awesome spreadsheet you have there!

·
No Clue Crew
7,172 Posts
I urge you to research, but I doubt you'll stray far from the N9 based on your requirements.

·
oh crap...
551 Posts