Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding last summer and really enjoy it. For the most part I ride in the morning for about 45-60 minutes on easy trails through the woods behind my house. I usually bring a bottle of water or Gatorade with me. This year, I'd like to make my rides a little longer and more challenging. My morning routine usually goes like this: get out of bed, check email, dress, hop on the bike and go and then eat a bowl of cereal when I get back. Should I eat something before I ride? If so, what? Or should I just keep doing what I'm doing? Any suggestions?

Thanks.

·
There's no app for this.
5,369 Posts
2 hot dogs and a big slurpee

just kidding. Any standard common sense intake will work for you, but riding on empty for an hour won't do damage. Your body might respond better if you ate first though.

.... a regular cycling programme will make you re-evaluate your eating habits, as every excess kilogram you're carrying will make its presence felt when you're sweating up that hill. Increase your intake of breads, rice, pasta, fruits and vegetables, diet drinks and water and cut back on the burgers, fries, cream doughnuts, triple-scoop ice-creams, potato crisps and sugar-laden fizzy drinks. The "big three" basics of a dedicated bike rider's diet are fibre, low fat and fruit and vegetables. A great cyclist's breakfast which contains all three comprises bran flakes with a sliced banana and low-fat milk, followed by a slice of mixed-grain toast with apricot jam and a cup of tea without sugar.

After a hard ride, it's important to eat some protein in any form, even a Clif bar...it helps to prevent cramping. your ride doesn't demand that, but it might in future if you start to ride more. Gatorade helps a bit, but mostly it's just a sugar drink.

Good luck, Jim

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts